Healthcare Business News

First two EHRs selected to test Stage 2 interoperability

By Joseph Conn
Posted: January 16, 2014 - 3:15 pm ET

The CMS and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology designated the first two electronic health-record systems to test whether EHRs are interoperable as required under the Stage 2 criteria of the government's incentive program for the meaningful use of health IT.

The Stage 2 rules, now in effect for qualifying hospitals and qualifying physicians and other “eligible professionals,” require providers to swap a summary of a patient's care record with other providers using at least one EHR system from a developer different than their own. At a minimum, they must conduct one or more tests of a swap with EHRs selected by the CMS to serve as test systems in a federal test bed environment created for this purpose.

Advertisement | View Media Kit


The “Test EHRs” are products by software developers McKesson Corp. and Meditech, which have worked previously with ONC and National Institute for Standards and Technology to develop the test procedure.

The feds are looking for other developers to step forward and offer their systems to serve as test EHRs.

More information about the testing program is available at the ONC website.

Follow Joseph Conn on Twitter: @MHJConn

What do you think?

Share your opinion. Send a letter to the Editor or Post a comment below.

Post a comment

Loading Comments Loading comments...



Switch to the new Modern Healthcare Daily News app

For the best experience of on your iPad, switch to the new Modern Healthcare app — it's optimized for your device but there is no need to download.