Healthcare Business News

WEDI announces ICD-10 best-practices initiative

By Joseph Conn
Posted: May 20, 2013 - 2:00 pm ET

Health information organizations in four states are the founding members of a new collaborative initiative to exchange information about best practices in preparation for conversion to ICD-10 diagnostic and procedural codes.

The creation of the WEDI ICD-10 State Collaborative Initiative was announced last week in Las Vegas during the annual national conference of the not-for-profit Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange.

Advertisement | View Media Kit


The founding organizations are the California ICD-10 Collaborative, Massachusetts Health Data Consortium, Minnesota ICD-10 Collaborative, NCHICA and Wisconsin ICD-10 Collaborative.

ICD-10 interest groups in other states can participate in the inter-state group, which will convene its first meeting July 22 at the WEDI “implementation excellence forum” on ICD-10 and the federally mandated health plan identifier July 22 in Fairfax, Va.

HHS has mandated that hospitals, office-based physicians, claims clearinghouses, health plans and other covered entities under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act begin using ICD-10 by Oct. 1, 2014.

Follow Joseph Conn on Twitter: @MHJConn

What do you think?

Share your opinion. Send a letter to the Editor or Post a comment below.

Post a comment

Loading Comments Loading comments...



Switch to the new Modern Healthcare Daily News app

For the best experience of on your iPad, switch to the new Modern Healthcare app — it's optimized for your device but there is no need to download.