Healthcare Business News

ONC posts updated EHR test criteria

By Joseph Conn
Posted: January 17, 2013 - 3:00 pm ET

Updated electronic health-record system test measures are now available from HHS' health IT office.

Organizations with self-developed EHR systems as well as commercial vendors seeking to ensure their systems will pass muster with federally designated testing and certification entities can find updates to the 2014 Edition Test Method on the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology's website.

The 2014 Edition of Standards and Certification Criteria (PDF) are used to test and certify EHRs for eligibility for use by providers in meeting Stage 2 meaningful-use criteria of the EHR incentive payment programs under Medicare and Medicaid created by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. Stage 2 meaningful-use criteria go into effect for hospitals on Oct. 1 and for office-based physicians on Jan. 1, 2014.

Advertisement | View Media Kit


Test procedures, data and tools can be accessed at the ONC website. Questions about the updates can be directed to the ONC’s Office of Certification via e-mail.

What do you think?

Share your opinion. Send a letter to the Editor or Post a comment below.

Post a comment

Loading Comments Loading comments...



Switch to the new Modern Healthcare Daily News app

For the best experience of on your iPad, switch to the new Modern Healthcare app — it's optimized for your device but there is no need to download.