Honoring the best

Modern Healthcare awards offer more than just plaques and dinners

Related Content Top 25 Women in Healthcare

CEO IT Achievement
Our editorial mission at Modern Healthcare is threefold: inform, educate and entertain. One of the important ways we educate our readers is by honoring those who have made significant contributions to the betterment of the healthcare industry. By honoring them, we tell their stories, which serve as inspiration to others hoping to make similar contributions. We sponsor a number of awards and honors programs; a complete list can be found on our Web site, We also sponsor these programs as a way for us to give back to an industry that has given us so much over the years. And they offer balance to our editorial coverage, which to some on occasion may seem critical or not supportive of their own objectives or positions. A number of our awards and honors programs are in full swing, and I'd like to take a moment to get you up to speed on a few of them:

* Today, we launch our inaugural Top 25 Women in Healthcare recognition program to honor those female healthcare executives who are making a difference. We are seeking nominees from all sectors of the healthcare industry, including hospitals, health systems, physician organizations, insurance, government, vendors and suppliers, trade and professional organizations, and patients' rights groups. Candidates will be judged on five criteria. The candidate must have: successfully served as a leader or managed an organization or company; shown the ability or power to effect change in the healthcare industry; demonstrated a willingness to share expertise with others in the field; served as a role model or mentor to other female healthcare executives; and assumed a leadership position in the industry outside of the candidates' own organization or company. To nominate someone, you must send us a detailed cover letter explaining how the candidate meets or exceeds the five criteria. Include the nominee's resume or curriculum vitae and a color photo. Please send the material to me, David Burda, editor, Modern Healthcare, 360 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, Ill. 60601. The submission deadline is Feb. 28. The editor-ial staff of Modern Healthcare will select the Top 25 Women in Healthcare, and we will profile the honorees in the April 18 issue.

* Last week, we kicked off our third annual CEO IT Achievement Awards competition. The award, co-sponsored by the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society, honors one or more healthcare industry chief executive officers who demonstrate leadership and commitment to using information technology to advance their healthcare organizations' strategic goals. Entries can be submitted online at The submission deadline also is Feb. 28. A panel of CEOs and chief information officers will judge the competition. We will announce the winners in the April 11 issue of Modern Healthcare and award recipients will be profiled in a special supplement to the May 23 issue.

* And we've extended the deadline of our seventh annual Physician Executive Award of Excellence and third annual Lifetime Achievement Award, co-sponsored by the American College of Physician Executives. The award criteria and submission form can be found on Modern Physician's Web site, The submission deadline was extended one week to Jan. 31. Entries must be sent to Joseph Conn, reporter, Modern Physician, 360 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, Ill. 60601. A panel of physician-executives will judge the competition, and the winners will be profiled in the April issue of Modern Physician and honored at the ACPE's 2005 Spring Institute in Boston in May.

And don't forget, we'll be honoring this year's inductees into the Modern Healthcare Health Care Hall of Fame at a banquet in Chicago on March 13 in conjunction with the American College of Healthcare Executives' annual Congress on Healthcare Management. This year's recipients are Stuart Wesbury Jr., former head of the ACHE, and Scott Parker, the former president and CEO of Intermountain Health Care. For more information, contact Brenda Stewart, our marketing director, at Thank you.